Michigan requires every single driver to have their auto insurance Michigan, especially in case of accidents. The state has taken an unusual approach to auto insurance Michigan by mandating the No-Fault auto insurance laws and Driver’s Responsibility Act. With these laws, every driver must maintain a particular amount of auto insurance coverage or face penalties.
The policy can be traced back in 1973, where the no-fault auto insurance Michigan was designed to increase the costs of benefits given to the injured party in the vehicle crash. A certain criteria was established to ensure that the payments are sent in a scheduled manner and to reduce the amount of costs that insurance companies used to spend on legal and administrative aspects.
With that, the no-fault auto insurance Michigan law has required drivers to maintain an amount of coverage which will give out unlimited medical coverage. Those provisions were made in exchange for the driver’s right to sue another party when an accident occurs. Of course, there are certain exceptions in the law, specifically when the accident has resulted into death or permanent disfigurement.
This law requires every Michigan motorist to have continuous auto insurance coverage. Those who are found without these documents will face serious consequences. If a driver is found without proper auto insurance, he may be sued in a civil case that will hold him personally liable for his legal fees.
Drivers can be fined up to $500 and may be sentenced up to one year in jail. The Michigan Driver Responsibility calls for additional consequences. Driving without proof of insurance is an offense, reprimanding the driver to pay for more than $200. The fees increase substantially each time the same charge is brought against the driver.
Don’t get caught driving without your auto insurance Michigan! Make sure you’ve got the best coverage in the most reasonable price. Check out https://insurancebyfrost.com/auto-insurance/ for plans and prices.